News & Events


SCSE shines at the Nanyang Awards again!

Published on: 18-Sep-2018

SCSE Chair, Prof Miao Chunyan (2nd from left), faculty and students were delighted to take a group photo with NTU President, Prof Subra Suresh.

SCSE has much to celebrate at this year’s Nanyang Awards Presentation Ceremony and Professor Installation Ceremony on Union Day, 11 September 2018 at Nanyang Auditorium. We have two more faculty promoted to full professor this year! They are Professor Cai Jianfei and Professor Cong Gao. The school has also won three Nanyang Awards. One award in education, one in research and another for teamwork!

Congratulation to A/P Cai Jianfei for his promotion to Full Professor!

Congratulation to A/P Cong Gao for his promotion to Full Professor!

Associate Professor Hui Siu Cheung won this year's Nanyang Education Award (School) for his dedication and excellent teaching practices that has enriched the learning experiences of SCSE undergraduates. He was conferred this award by popular vote from SCSE's final year students.

The school has proudly received two more awards. Associate Professor Bo An won the Nanyang Research Award (Young Investigator), which recognises him as a young researcher below the age of 39 years who has made outstanding contributions in extending the frontiers of knowledge. The Nanyang Teamwork Award gives recognition to teams whose outstanding teamwork in a major University project or event brought success and honour to the University. One of this year's two Teamwork awards went to Associate Professor Francis Lee and team SuperNova, who won the Overall Championship and Highest LINPACK award by beating 15 other universities from around the world at Student Cluster Competition that was held in conjunction with SuperComputing 2017 (SC17) at Denver, Colorado, USA.

Let's extend our warmest congratulations to our SCSE faculty members who have been awarded the Nanyang Awards.

Nanyang Education Award
School Award
Associate Professor Hui Siu Cheung

Nanyang Research Award
Young Investigator
Associate Professor Bo An

Nanyang Award
Associate Professor Francis Lee & Team (SuperNova)

The members of Team SuperNova are Mr Liu Siyuan – Captain (Class of 2018), Mr Shao Yiyang – Vice-Captain (Class of 2018), Ms Hao Meiru (CS, Year 3), Mr Chen Hailin (CS, Year 4), Mr Shi Ziji (CS, Year 4), Ms Tang Shuqian (CS, Year 4), Assoc Prof Francis Lee  – Team Advisor (far right).

Back to listing