News & Events


SCSE Computing Challenge 2019 - Decodethlon

Published on: 14-Jan-2019

School of Computer Science and Engineering, NTU (SCSE) hosted its first ever Computing Challenge on 12th and 13th of January at The Arc. 14 teams from Junior Colleges battled to clinch the top 4 prizes. The hackathon event saw two days of brainstorming great ideas come to life where the students developed games to showcase the use of Unity 3D software and incorporate the hardware element of Leap motion controller in their game design. As the participants were new to these programmes the competition was very challenging and intense. AC Acad Prof Nicholas Vun and Prof Oh Hong Lye inaugurated the event.

The student presentations in front of the 6 panel of judges* comprising of faculty and alumni was interactive and interesting where we saw not just their seriousness but also their humor and wit leaving the audience in awe as well as mirth.

The judges had a hard time choosing winners with all the brilliant presentations.

Participating teams were judged based on the following criteria:
• Innovative nature of the idea (Creativity)
• Utility of the idea (Technical)
• Quality of the design (Aesthetical)

Team NJC of the National Junior College walked away as the Overall Winners. Team Leo from Hwa Chong Institution received the Innovative Award for their creativity, Team Eureka from Tampines Meridian Junior College clinched the Technovative Award for best technical aspects and Team Clutch from Victoria Junior College won the Artistic Award for best aesthetics. The 4 teams won $1000 worth of Gift vouchers each.

A special mention was made for Team Spectrum from Yishun Innova Junior College for their outstanding efforts as well.

Each participant was honored by a finisher medal to appreciate their efforts

Awards were presented by our Guest of honour Prof Miao Chun Yan, Chair SCSE, to the winning teams. SCSE expresses its appreciation to The National Supercomputing Centre (NSCC) Singapore, for their event sponsorship and to Assoc Prof Francis Lee for his guidance.

The day ended with a scrumptious buffet dinner and much merriment by the students and teachers of the participating colleges, invited guests and SCSE Faculty.

This Hackathon event was meticulously planned and implemented by SCSE Student Ambassadors, led by Jayson Shen Qianjian, Tyrone J. Fecho and Wilson H. Hasan.

*Judging Panel:
Assoc Prof Goh Wooi Boon, Assoc Prof Francis Lee, Assoc Prof Sun Aixin, Dr Sourav Sen Gupta (Faculty)
Mr Budha Bhattacharya (SCSE Alumni)
Ms Cherilynn Ang (SCSE Student- CS).

© SCSE Outreach

Back to listing