Past Chairs


Prof Thambipillai Srikanthan

Professor Thambipillai Srikanthan was Chair of the School (then known as School of Computer Engineering (SCE)) from February 2010 to January 2016.

Prof Sri currently serves as the Executive Director of the Cyber Security Research Centre @ NTU (CYSREN). He was the founding Director of the Centre for High Performance Embedded Systems (CHiPES) in 1998 (renamed as Hardware and Embedded Systems Lab now) and also served as the founding Director of the Intelligent Devices and Systems (IDeAS) cluster (2005-2007).

During his stint as Chair, Prof Sri led his colleagues to revamp the two undergraduate programmes. He contributed to all aspects of curriculum development and management of the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. Prof Sri rolled out new business operating models for many areas in the school such as academic management structure, automated teaching allocation system, peer tutoring system and many more. The school garnered strengthened expertise in the emerging areas of research - software engineering, big data, custom computing, cyber-physical systems and cyber security.

His research interests include vulnerability analysis, security by design, hardware security, design methodologies for high-productivity embedded computing systems, architectural translations of compute-intensive algorithms and high-speed techniques for vision- enabled systems. He has published more than 400 technical papers including 100 journals in IEEE Transactions, IEEE proceedings and other reputed international journals. Prof Sri was also the co-founder of Quantum Inventions Pte Ltd, which was recently acquired by Continental. He is a co-founder of a cyber security start-up focusing on vulnerability assessment.

Prof Sri was nominated for the ‘Best Teacher’ award for six consecutive years and won this award in 2002. Prof Sri was awarded the National Day Award - Public Administration Medal (Bronze) in 2006.